CACMC well represented at Cooma MotorFest 2022

After a break of some years, the biennial Cooma Motorfest made a welcome return to the Cooma Showground on Saturday 5 November 2022. CACMC participated with 23 members and 15 historic cars.

The 2022 Motorfest attracted around 500 entrants from all parts of the region including Sydney, Canberra, South Coast and the mid-west of NSW.

Cars represented almost the whole history of motor vehicles, and there were trucks, cranes, stationary engines and the 80 cars participating in the Perth to Sydney Marathon.

Graham Boyce, Lee Gaynor and Dean Benedetti lapping up the appreciation.

Organizers, the Cooma car Club, this year produced a coffee table book featuring vehicles on display, including two from CACMC (Graham Gittins’ Pulsar and Malcolm Noad’s Austin Healey), together with information about the Snowy Mountains Scheme, Kosciuszko National Park and information about the Cooma Car Club’s car museum.

Phil and Fay Cancillier’s trophy-winning 1939 Buick

The Motorfest gets strong support from the local Community, with trophies sponsored by many local businesses and funds raised for local charities.

Malcom Noad receives his trophy from the Mayor of Cooma

CACMC members were awarded three of the competitive trophies for best examples of restored cars: Dean Benedetti for his 1939 Pontiac Chieftain, Phil Cancillier for his 1939 Buick Business Coupe, and Malcolm Noad for his 1956 Austin Healey 100/4.

Phil Cancillier enjoys applause for his trophy award

MotorFest benefited from excellent organisation by the hosts, and participants enjoyed fine facilities and fine weather.

The next event will be in November 2024.

CACMC Participants:

Historics: Lee Gaynor –1934 De Soto Airflow sedan, Mark Butterfield – 1936 Buick Holden-body, Phil & Fay Cancillier – 1939 Buick Business Coupe, Dean Benedetti – 1939 Pontiac Chieftain, Graham Boyce – 1948 Chevrolet Holden-body sedan, Richard & Dilber Thwaites – 1953 Daimler Conquest, David McKay – 1954 Jaguar XK120, Malcolm Noad – 1956 Austin Healey BN/2 100/4, John & Helen Furlan – 1960 Austin Healey Sprite, Heather Chadwick & Neville Saunders – 1962 Holden EK Wagon, Neil Buttriss – 1963 Humber Vogue Sports, Dave Byers – 1972 Van den Plas Princess 1300, Justin O’Keeffe – 1974 Ford Fairlane ZF, Chris Clark & Lyn Clarke – 1974 Mitsubishi Lancer Rally, Graham Bigg – 1975 BMW 520.

Moderns: Mike & Michelle Norman, Graham & Helen Gittins, Andrew McLean.

Words and pictures: Graham Gittins and Richard Thwaites